Wednesday, 2 February 2011

Recommended Music: The Black Monk EP by John Hughes

John Hughes is a recording artist, producer and remixer from Chicago. He founded the Hefty Records label in 1996 and built HFT studios, in his hometown, where this EP was recorded.

Over 5 tracks this EP mixes gentle sounds and effects, such as on opener 'She Was As High As My Eyes', with darker electronica as on the title track. Overall the EP is quite cinematic and haunting, and its combination of real instruments, like the vibraphone & glockenspiel played ny long term collaborator Rick Embach, and electronic rhythmns and bass works really well.

Track listing:
  1. She Was As High As My Eyes
  2. The Black Monk
  3. Filcut
  4. Confluence
  5. Bird of Ill Omen

You can listen to the title track from the EP on John's myspace page here: . The EP is released on 1320 Records & is available to download from Amazon, iTunes etc.

No comments:

Post a Comment