Thursday, 21 June 2012

The Gayngs Side of Town - new mixtape

Regular readers will know that the Gayngs album 'Relayted' was one of my favourites of 2010. And seeing them live at SXSW in 2011 was definitely one of my highlights of that trip. If you're not familiar with Gayngs, the album came about through a mutual love of 10cc's track 'I'm Not In Love' and quickly turned into a bit of a supergroup project, creating an album that paid homage to that kind of music while also sounding completely contemporary.

In the absence of any new music from Gayngs I've put together this 15 track mixtape featuring a couple of songs from the record, some stuff from artists who took part or have since hooked up with the band, and some other music that just seemed to fit with the overall vibe. Hope you enjoy it - let me know what you think...

  1. The Art of Noise - Moments In Love
  2. Gayngs - The Gaudy Side of Town
  3. Har Mar Superstar - O
  4. Prince - I Can't Make U Love Me

  5. Bon Iver - Hinnom, TX
  6. Air - Cherry Blossom Girl
  7. Aloe Blacc - Life So Hard
  8. Bob Marley & The Wailers - Sun Is Shining
  9. The Beatles - Something
  10. Bob Dylan - Lay Lady Lay
  11. Beck - Everybody's Gotta Learn Sometime
  12. Portishead - Glory Box
  13. Poliça - I See My Mother
  14. Gayngs - The Last Prom on Earth
IMPORTANT UPDATE: Due to an alleged copyright infringement the free download is no longer available, but you can still listen to the podcast on mixcloud, where there are no copyright issues. I've put the podcast player above.

No comments:

Post a Comment